Home
  • Why am I doing my practice
  • How can I improve it?

These are things I need to personally establish to discover where my thinking comes from and help me get a job. Things to think about:

  • Debates in practise, what are people saying about Illustration?
  • Context, where does my work fit in? Where is my emerging practical work coming from.
  • Everything will work as an influence towards my FMP.
  • my work also needs to have reasoning behind it, critical and contextual rationale, allowing me to look beyond the obvious.
  • I should implement research strategies like reading books, articles, visiting exhibitions, these will ALL inform the nature of ym project and practise.

(HISTORY + RESEARCH + STUDIO PROJECTS + VISUAL CULTURE =)

IDEA GENERATION=

THINKING PRACTITIONER.

 

Research: DJ Spooky

  •  fascination with digital literacy, we arE always trying to interact with adaptable software, but creative arts always need you to be literate, not just everyone can do it. You need to transform the tools to make it individual. But everyone who can is just imitating each others style.
  • Avant Garde  became a visual language for centuries, but now everyone is gaining access to skills, they just need to develop them.
  • Was really interesting to hear him speak, as although it’s not the same creative field of my own his thoughts on the influence of technology to the creative arts definitely resonates with my thoughts of technology affecting the world of illustration, so I should be careful to not limit to myself talking or writing about illustration specifically.

History: Max Hattler

  • In 2009 he created an animation using flags, each flag is historically referenced through the way in which he has animated them.
  • “Visual artist Max Hattler and advertising agency Contrapunto BBDO have collaborated to create abstract political short film Stop the Show (aka WAR). The film, commissioned by Amnesty International, is a reference to international relations and arms trade.” taken from the website
  • This has made me think about using historical referencing in my work, instead of constantly trying to make new refreshing work it’s also interesting to make links from the past.

433556721_640

Linder Sterling:

  • Found her style by experimenting with her practice, changing what she used to do.
  • This led her to montage but instead of just creating aesthetically pleasing images, she contextulised her work and thought about the woman subjects she used to create thoughtful, considered and contextualised pieces of work.
  • She continued to experiment and drifted further away from her fine art background and played with performance pieces which lasted around 13hrs and were meant to induce boredom. Showing again a variety and experimentation with practice.
  • I think what I can take from Sterling, is it’s quite easy to create work, especially with montage, but it always needs to be contextulised to make it interesting and worthwhile.

STERL-00241 fdx_02linder3_3mv0ophtc_jpg

Little Big Books:

  • children’s books will always be a key part of society and a huge industry, even if technology moves on.
  • Adults read the words, but children will see the pictures first.
  • They don’t necessarily need to be politically motivated, but are interesting to look at and always will be. A timeless park of the creative industry.

Nendo:

  • Japanese designer who works with smash, a type of plastic, he considered how it would work with light and used a glass blowing technique to create lantern type shapes. he describes the material “like free form clay”
  • In all aspects of design he tries to be flexible and designs anything and everything, despite actually studying a degree in architecture.
  • He describes Tokyo as a very flat city, which inspired his work about story telling
  • What I can take from Nendo is not restricting yourself to one thing, to be successful I need to be open to experiment with materials and creative fields.

blown-fabric-w

What I think is most important to take from this lecture is the ability to open up to as many ideas and possibilties, but always make sure my decisions are informed, and I’m able to have an academic depth to be able to talk about my experiments and why I did them, this will help in my personal practice, but also when I graduate I will be able to talk into depth about my work and what I want to do.

Leave a Reply

