Home

This weeks lecture is all about breaking down what we’re doing in our dissertation, addressing the topic and giving ourselves a position in the art world. My position involves finding out what I do and don’t like. Even talking about things people say that I don’t agree with, critiquing it with an informed decision.

Visual culture is constantly giving us standardisation, it’s everywhere and hard to avoid. An example of this Rachel Gannon’s illustration for an article on old age for the guardian:

PL_inside_final

For example, this is a piece for an article on old age  and serves as a typical imagery of an old woman, by the style of clothes, hair and the fact that she’s gardening. All part of stereotyping, but it’s not initially noticed by some people as its just engrained into visual culture, but for me to become critical I need to be able to pick up on these things, and even start to address it, is it an issue? Why do we have this stereotype? Why is it these details? This is the ability to look at work and understand its context, rather than just looking at it as a ‘good’ image. The meanings of things can change by looking at it contextually. This is what I should be doing when I look at every artwork or image in my essay.

The whole needs to be written in my voice:

  • My own academic thinking
  • What I like
  • “This makes ME feel “
  • “I would like to try this in MY practice.

My essay also needs to focus on deconstructing my topic, much like Fontana’s split canvas

Spatial Concept 'Waiting' 1960 by Lucio Fontana 1899-1968

He looked at the materiality of art forms, split the canvas and deconstructing what a canvas should be, and in my essay im deconstructing the way we previously think about my topic.

Discourses-

  • how people talk about certain things, or react to social events
  • images can be as much psychological as they can be literal.
  • looking at every day shop displays you can see how women and girls are represented using colours.
  • We all recognise femininity in western culture but I need to discover how to become critical about it.

Datasets/typologies-

  • investigating in the way of showing the same thing again  and again
  • famously done by Bernd & Hilla Becher, they don’t show type they just display differences.
  • by grouping you can start to define individuality
  • their images become historical documents
  • all alternative ways of researching that is not typically thought about, something for me to consider trying it, more than just looking at books or surveys. I would learn and become aware of difference.
  • Example: Evan Roth

Evan Roth:

Looked at the art of graffiti, started my looking at pen and markers used, archiving every piece of graffiti he saw in his area, regardless of whether he liked it or not. He then removed the background and colour and studied the diversity of letter style dependent on where they were from in a city radius. This use of datasetting escalated his projet into things such as performance art, 3D mapping and sculptures. He is a really excellent example of how work can start with something with datamapping to add and develop into understanding of the subject.

Evan Roth-3807

Context of place-

  • Where will my work end up?
  • How will it be displayed?
  • Who is my audience? Good designers are aware of this.
  • Example: Gareth Pugh

Gareth Pugh:

Known somewhat as a misfit in the fashion world , a lot of his work is seen in pop videos or television rather than on the catwalk. He changes the regular way fashion is seen. It’s another way of utilising technology to break away from tradition and changes the way art/fashion is viewed. This way of working is definitely something that resonates with the theme of my research project. What I think is great about him working in this way is he has so much more creative control over lighting shadows. Use different angles (Like from below) and effects like mirroring and repetition, all of this accumulated together allows him to remodel the body and control how we see his designs are work, its sets him apart from other designers by embracing technology in ways they might not have done. This is a really interesting way of working, and it can relate to my own work also, looking at ways of accentuating work through video, like animation or simply filming drawings, so so many alternative ways of getting my work across that isn’t just being hung up in a gallery. I’m sure there are many other ways that work in a simialr way and thats where I can see my work going, despite not being a fashion designer.

Leave a Reply

