Home

As well as discovering a pinterest account was in my biggest interest, I also discovered Instagram as a really good option for sharing my work. However I heard before that certain artists and photographers became wary to use the platform to post their work as there were rumours a few years ago that they claimed ownership of any of the images you posted, which Is why I looked into this on the Instagram terms and conditions page:

“Instagram does not claim ownership of any Content that you post on or through the Service. Instead, you hereby grant to Instagram a non-exclusive, fully paid and royalty-free, transferable, sub-licensable, worldwide license to use the Content that you post on or through the Service, subject to the Service’s Privacy Policy, available here http://instagram.com/legal/privacy/, including but not limited to sections 3 (“Sharing of Your Information”), 4 (“How We Store Your Information”), and 5 (“Your Choices About Your Information”). You can choose who can view your Content and activities, including your photos, as described in the Privacy Policy.”

After reading through this found that was not actually any worry about them claiming ownership of my work, and anyone is actually prohibited to share any of my images as their own either, which is even better. After reading this I feel a lot more comfortable about posting my work on there, and I can see why so many others do it. The reason I chose a pinterest account was because I found that it generally has a more mature following, which is why I looked into the following that instagram receives:

As you can see it is majoratively a younger range of people that use the platform, which i think works great for me this side of things can be aimed at my younger audience, but obviously anyone can do so.

I think this platform will be really helpful as if im constantly posting it keeps me in the minds of my followers, rather than being forgotten. By using hashtags it also means anyone can search me. I can also add links to my own website and shop. This is the most logical direction as it is image based. In addition Of all internet users, around 17% uses Instagram.Source: DigitalInformationWorld.com, 21 percent of internet users use Pinterest, compared to 6% that uses Tumblr. Although Twitter has 18% it’s not a great platform for what I want to share.This shows that both platforms I’m choosing to use both have huge amounts of following which is incredibly important.

I have now set up my own account on Instagram, just starting small to get my head around presenting my work to the public! As I don’t have ‘followers straight away, I benefitted from using hashtags which allow people to find my work and gather interest, it’s very small now, but allows me to gather feedback from artists around the world, who are actively searching illustration. At the moment I’m not interested in selling any work on their, just letting people see it.  I was also able to gain followers from studios artists and photographers, just in the space of a few hours. I also saw the benefit of creating an email address just for business purposes, to add a more professional touch.

IMG_8372 IMG_8374 IMG_8373

I was really happy with the success of how this went, and it did well so quickly, that I will continue to use this alongside my interest account for my informal side of promotion. When I hopefully set up my own website I will hopefully also have ways to link them directly to it, keeping the two involved. What I found most useful from having this account is, by see which posts received more likes and recognition I can see which work is valued higher by the general public(some of which surprised me), I can then relay this information and feed it into my professional portfolio.

 

Leave a Reply

