Home

For my first printmaking GIF I have decided I want to animate a bird in flight inspired by the bluebird in Charles Bukowski’s poem entitled ‘Bluebird’. However I am also not especially comfortable with trying to work out on my own exactly how a bird would act in flight, I don’t exactly have access to a bird or studio, or possess the skills to capture a bird in flight for reference. Edward Muybridge is an incredibly famous pioneer of animation and I remembered the sequential studies of humans and animals in lotion that I thought would provide me some excellent reference material.

All of these drawings have been incredibly helpful in helping me create appropriate reference for my drawing. Animation for me  has always been a process I’ve feared due to its need for a large visual knowledge on the world and the way it can be depicted through drawing This is why using Muybridge seems like a good starting point for understanding movement and reactions. From this reference I have been able to create, what I hope is a an almost accurate depiction of a bird in flight, which would have been incredibly difficult to work out myself. He seemed like an obvious solution to a pressing task. In addition as creating the GIF’s as an illustrator my focus is obviously visual style and aesthetic and I think it would be a waste of my time completely mastering the animation from a technical drawing point of view. But instead using his immensely famous and commended work  as a quality and reliable source of refernce for drawing animation.

cockatiel eadweard-muybridge-bird_i-G-41-4176-NLEUF00Z flying-bird-eadweard-muybridge muyb2 muybridge birds sequence muybridge muybridge_eagle_web

Leave a Reply

