Home

After some advice in my tutorial I have visited th Guilford Street press in order to gain some advice on creating some more flip books testers. They reviewed my original flip book plan and was able to point out all the errors. On my next edit I made sure all of the images were put tighter together. In addition to this, instead of hand turning the paper I found out you can tell the printer to double side print automatically. This actually made for some really successful prints, and once I correctly figured out the nets was able to make some functioning prototype books.

IMG_0166

IMG_0650 IMG_0645 IMG_0646 IMG_0647 IMG_0648 IMG_0649All of these books were able ot be made form single sheets of paper, which is great because they fit the exact number of frames needed, but they don’t exactly have the flip book quality that allows them to be animated, whoch is really how I need them to function. As a result of this I have tried ot make another flip book from a single sheet. By using the bird frames there are a lot more oppurtunities for a animated quality, which a flip book needs. IMG_0167 IMG_0654 IMG_0653

Shrinking down the image made me lose a lot  of image quality, and the size made it incredibly difficult to use the guillotine but overall I’m really happy with the prototype and it’s satisfying to see a functioning flip book. It’s also really strange seeing something I’ve  been animating digitally actually coming to life, in real life. Overall this process has helped me a lot with getting to grips with the book binding process. Even though I could potentially not use these as flip books its been a process worth learning.

Out of all the book testers the last has worked the best, mostly because it actually functions as its purpose, the others stand more for a documentation of the process. Documenting the traditional way my illustrations/prints would and could be seen. I’m starting to question whether this process is an important part of this project, as although the books are nice to look at, especially in miniature version, they don’t hold a lot of purpose and could require some more thought, as they may not be needed.

Leave a Reply

