Home

IMG_0385

For my first go at handprinted bsiness cards I used the relief press method , using semi circles to print out my initials as a possible new way of branding, but I just found that I wasn’t over happy with the result, even when I tried an inverted version, it just doesn’t look interesting enough. I don’t think it helps that I haven’t done it before, perhaps if I had done it before I would have some more skilled professional looking prints to cut down to business cards.

So instead I have gone tried mono screen printing as I’ve been working with it a lot in my FMP, so If I have it put up in my degree shows potential clients will see a clear link between it and my work.

here is how they turned out:

As you can see I decided to laser print the back fo my card with some basic information to contact me . I also included printmaker and animator on my card as I regard myself as skilled in those things and I think it would be worth putting on to remind potential clients that I’m not just limited to simple illustration.  IMG_0445IMG_0444 IMG_0446 IMG_0447

I’m really happy with how they turned out, but I think there is quite a few changes I will make before I commit myself to a final design. For example I think the background shade is way too dark and I need my colours to stand out if I want to be remembered and have a positive impact. I also think all the text needs to be centre aligned as currently it looks a little scruffy. In addition to this I will need to use some thicker card rather than just a heavy paper weight, as thin paper make sit look very cheap and amateur. It’s also a shame that you can only print with the inks once to get the same effect, as when I tried printing the second time I only got these prints beneath which don’t look great overall. IMG_0448IMG_0449

I’m very happy with these as prototype however and just need to make some final adjustments before creating the final set.

Leave a Reply

